Grey Wolf Drums

Musical Instruments


Tim Cone Secures Fourth Coach of the Year Award at PBA Awards Night

Philippine Basketball Association (PBA) coach Tim Cone was recognized as the Virgilio “Baby” Dalupan Coach of The Year for the fourth time during the 2023 PBA Press Corps Awards Night at Novotel in Quezon City.

In addition to leading the Gin Kings to victory in the previous season’s Commissioner’s Cup, Cone also guided Gilas Pilipinas to a gold medal in the Hangzhou Asian Games.

Reflecting on these achievements, Cone expressed his gratitude, saying, “Coaching Ginebra has been such a whirlwind in terms of all the fan support and the corroboration we had in the Asian Games was special, especially with coach Alfrancis Chua.”

He also described the victory against the Bay Area Dragons as “the cherry on top,” emphasizing the significance of the win in the Philippines’ sports history.

With Cone’s exceptional contributions, he received the President’s Award, along with the entire Gilas Pilipinas team, including the other coaches and officials.

Meanwhile, San Miguel’s CJ Perez secured the Scoring Champion award after averaging 18.8 points in 59 games last season and reaching an average of 22.5 points during the Beermen’s Philippine Cup Finals victory.

In other accolades, Jojo Lastimosa was named Danny Floro Executive of the Year for his leadership in TNT’s Governors’ Cup triumph, and Jayson Castro secured the Order of Merit award.

Additionally, Jio Jalalon was honored as the Defensive Player of the Year, and Roi Sumang received the William “Bogs” Adornado Comeback Player of the Year award.

The first game of the Philippine Cup Finals series between TNT and the Beermen was recognized as the Game of the Season, and Jericho Cruz was honored with the Mr. Quality Minutes award for his performance during the series.

Converge’s Justin Arana, NLEX’s Brandon Ganuelas-Rosser, Blackwater’s Ato Ular, and Phoenix’s Tyler Tio and Encho Serrano were named to the All-Rookie Team.