Grey Wolf Drums

Musical Instruments


La Salle’s Kevin Quiambao Makes History as First Filipino to Win UAAP MVP in 8 Years

La Salle star Kevin Quiambao was named the UAAP Most Valuable Player for Season 86 after comfortably leading the statistical race.

The talented forward will be awarded the MVP trophy on Sunday, coinciding with Game 2 of the UAAP Finals between La Salle and University of the Philippines.

Quiambao compiled 97.0 Statistical Points (SPs) in the regular season, well ahead of University of the East’s Noy Remogat, who finished with 85.93 SPs.

This achievement makes Quiambao the first local MVP in eight years, with the last being Ateneo’s Kiefer Ravena in 2014 and 2015. Foreign student-athletes have dominated the award for the past six seasons.

The 22-year-old is also the first La Salle player to win the MVP title since Ben Mbala in 2016 and 2017, joining an elite list of Green Archers that includes Jun Limpot, Mark Telan, and Don Allado.

Quiambao’s impressive season included two triple-doubles, with averages of 16.7 points, 10.86 rebounds, 6.0 assists, and 1.9 steals per game in 14 appearances.

Aside from being named MVP, Quiambao was also part of the UAAP Mythical Team, along with La Salle guard Evan Nelle, last year’s MVP Malick Diouf of UP, and Far Eastern University’s L-Jay Gonzales.

Meanwhile, Francis Lopez claimed the Rookie of the Year title, following in the footsteps of Carl Tamayo, who won it last season.

La Salle and UP are set to face off in the UAAP men’s basketball Finals later at 6 p.m. at Mall of Asia Arena.