Grey Wolf Drums

Musical Instruments


Kaya-Iloilo Makes History with Third Consecutive Copa Alcantara Victory

Kaya-Iloilo captured the Copa Paulino Alcantara for a record-extending third time after hurdling the challenge of Davao Aguilas-University of Makati, 4-3, on penalties following a 1-1 tie after extra time Saturday at Rizal Memorial Stadium.

Justin Baas scored the winner off Aguilas goalkeeper Dini Ouattara following a retake as Kaya once again ruled the annual domestic cup competition after falling short to United City in last year’s final in Carmona, Cavite.

Ouattara actually saved Baas’ initial attempt that would have extended the shootout, but referee Mick John Pineda ordered the Kaya midfielder to return to the spot for another kick.

While Baas sealed the deal, it was goalkeeper Quincy Kammeraad who kept Kaya alive in the shootout, making a pair of stops after Davao went ahead when Paolo Bugas scored and Ouattara stopping Robert Lopez-Mendy during the first attempt of both teams.

“Credit to the players, they kept going for 120 minutes but we got our hands on the trophy. I don’t care how we got it,” said Kaya coach Colum Curtis.

Kaya won all 10 games during the competition to add this year’s Copa to the ones it took in the inaugural staging in 2018, ironically over Davao, and in 2021 against the Azkals Development Team.

Davao settled for a runner-up finish after a dream run which saw the former PFL side reach the knockout stage and produce a stunning two-legged semis win over Dynamic Herb Cebu in its return to top-flight competition.