Grey Wolf Drums

Musical Instruments


Kaya-Iloilo Clinches PFF Women’s League Title

Kaya-Iloilo has been crowned the Philippine Football Federation (PFF) Women’s League champion after a 1-0 victory over Manila Digger at Rizal Memorial Stadium. The winning goal was scored by Sheen Nicole Ramores in the 86th minute.

With the win, Kaya not only secured its first league crown but also avenged last year’s shocking elimination from the PFF Women’s Cup. Former national coach Let Dimzon led the team, which is captained by Filipinas defender Hali Long, through a successful league campaign. They topped the single-round eliminations and then defeated three-time champions La Salle in the semifinals.

Despite having numerous missed opportunities, including a saved penalty by Cam Rodriguez, Kaya managed to break the deadlock. Manila Digger, despite being down to 10 players after Hannah Pachejo was shown the red card in the first half, kept Kaya on edge throughout the match. However, Ramores ultimately found the back of the net after a blocked shot by Sara Castaneda.

Manila Digger, making its first appearance in the Women’s League, finished as the runner-up. The tournament had been on a three-year hiatus due to the pandemic. In the earlier match for third place, UAAP champion Far Eastern University defeated La Salle with a score of 2-1.

Your subscription could not be saved. Please try again.

Your subscription has been successful.